Hello, I’m L.

I thought it best to introduce myself, so that I’m a little bit more than just the person sitting behind the computer screen.

I’m not sure how this usually works, this blogging thing, but I thought it might be best if I introduce myself, so that I’m a little bit more than just the person sitting behind the computer screen.

You can call me L. I look like this.

coverphoto

I’m a fiction writer and third year Journalism student with an honors distinction.  Presently I spend most of my time writing, working, attending classes, and working on my capstone project, which I must say, is the single most terrifying thing I have ever had to do.

Right now, the piece that I’m working is about a girl that wants to stop running.  It’s a favorite of a good friend, and at her request, I keep writing so that she can keep reading.  It’s taking an unusual twist and I’m not quite sure what the main character will do next.  Which, if I’m honest, is sort of thrilling and terrifying all at once.

Currently, and for the last 597 days, I am working third shift for a company that I love and even if I’m not doing what I love, I look forward to going to work every night.

I entered college three years ago with every intention of studying Spanish, and after a semester or two of hating myself, I asked Mother Maniacal (My wonderful mother) what I should change my major to. This woman has supported me my whole life and always been there for me when I needed her, without question or care. But in that moment, she looked at me like I had just sprouted three heads and given birth to kittens. She said “L, what kind of dumb question is that?” And I had no answer, obviously.  So she sat down next to me and said, “You love to write.  You write every day, about everything.  Why wouldn’t you go to school and study something that you love?” And the rest is, as they say, history.

Now, I’m in my third year and starting my capstone project.  Did I mention it’s terrifying?  It’s called ‘Caricaturized, Dying, or Actually straight: The under and misrepresentation of Gay and Lesbian Characters in Film.’ Does it sound a little more terrifying now? It should.

But, I’ll tell you all about it another day.

Goodnight.

 

Leave a Reply

